Skip to content

Twitter brand pages – where Twitter goes from here

December 8, 2011

Image representing Twitter as depicted in Crun...

Image via CrunchBase

Today Twitter has redesigned. If you visit fly.twitter.com, you’ll see how it looks. On the iPhone, it looks interesting.

I like the “Discover” tab, especially the fact that the logo for it is #, the hashtag on Twitter. I used Discover to see what was happening today on Twitter. It’s like a mini version of LinkedIn today.

I’m not sure about brand pages

The thing about brand pages, is content. Do I want content from a brand? I follow a few brands, but honestly, I don’t have any brands in the lists that I follow. The question is, will I add some brands?

For me, the answer is no. But there are some brands that some people will follow. I’m most interested in what brands will get from the exchange. Presumably, there are some analytics that will come with the brand page.

All of this is an effort to get more people to spend more time on the platform. I visit Twitter.com rather frequently, but most people use Tweetdeck, Hootsuite or one of the many hundreds of Twitter posting tools out there.

These efforts to redesign are an effort to get people to use Twitter.com more often. If that is true, this seems to mean that Twitter will try to monetize through advertising. They will not try to sell the community to Facebook, Google or Apple.

Good for them. Twitter is responsible for the change in the way we interact with brands. Seems like they deserve to be compensated for it.

What do you think of the new look? You can see it here.

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 54 other followers

