Skip to content

I really like Facebook timeline

March 8, 2012

I spent the better part of a week working on Facebook timeline for the University where I work. The school was founded in 1819, but the history goes back even farther. Telling the story of the school with timeline has been a great experience. 

I’m interested in how alumni will react when I hit publish in the morning. 

Fact is, we’re not done. I would like to add something from every month. There’s a host of history still waiting to be added to the timeline. But I elected to go live tomorrow. 

I think timeline will bring more people to more content on the site. The issue with a Facebook is that no one visits them. Subscribing to a feed means content filters to the user. The user doesn’t look for the content. Timeline could change that.

Wish me luck. The passionate alumni will be looking over the history I compiled. They’ll let me know where the holes are.  

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 21, 2012 8:09 pm

    So, Matt, how did they react?

  2. April 15, 2012 4:39 pm

    Good question, and sorry this is late. I’m not sure Facebook thought through the interactivity of timeline. Alums like it, I know because I’ve asked them IRL. But there is no real way to interact with history. What, are they going to “like” the building of West Hall? Who would? Also, there’s no way to comment. The timeline posts are: West Hall was built in 1842.” We tried adding “tell us your memories in West Hall” but no one did. So I would say Timeline is a waste of time that actually makes Pages harder to manage.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 54 other followers

