Skip to content

What will I learn at Web 2.0

September 15, 2008

Tonight, I’ll get on a plane and head to New York City for the Web 2.0 Expo. This week I’ll be blogging about what I learn.

My agency is sending me because, for the couple of years, I’ve given a presentation called Web 2.0. You can see a really old one here. I’ve updated the living bejeezus out of it, and will update it even more.

Midtown Manhattan, New York City, from Rockefe...Image via Wikipedia

I’m excited for Web 2.0, to see some of the bloggers I’ve been reading for a while speak.

Marketing is getting so interested. We’re all online more and more. The Internet is important. And that means more than banners and websites. It means rethinking the very reasons brands have websites. It means being in the places that potential target markets are.

Even though I’m a social media strategist, I don’t think that the social media is the be all and end all. Brand still matters (and by brand, I mean that a strong brand merely means that when it’s time to make a purchase decision, the strong brands rise to the top of mind).

Marketing plans matter even more. Think of this analogy: if marketers run into social media because it’s a new and exciting opportunity, is that the same thing as banks running into the mortgage game because of the new and exciting opportunities?

Maybe not. And this isn’t to say that marketers shouldn’t engage in digital. And the typical agency shouldn’t be thinking digital on every job. It’s to say that we should really, really think about the plan. Anyway, I hope to learn a little more about the planning.

If you could have any question answered at Web 2.0 Expo, what would it be?

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]

Leave a Reply

