Skip to content

This blog needs a goal

October 14, 2008

At first, I was going to make it, “click the about me” page. That was going to be my goal. Then it occured to me that click the about me page was a stupid goal.

Who cares if anyone knows me? Will that help my career? And since my employer basically has no idea that I write this blog, there’s no point in asking the about me page to be a place whereby we might get new business.

So, I’m back to the conundrum. What should the goal of this blog be?

The Dude (Jeff Bridges) talking to the Big Leb...

Image via Wikipedia

For a while, it was merely a tool to get on the first page of google in a search for ‘Matt Hames’. If someone thinks of themselves as a social media dude, they must at least win the race to the top of Google. Social Media is SEO.

But that can be accomplished with other tools. So, I need a goal. I preach about goals here like I’m standing on a pulpit, and yet I lack one.

So I’ll get back to you.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

