Skip to content

Why I don’t post links to my blog on Twitter

May 9, 2009

Twitter, they say, is an excellent tool for promoting my blog. The followers I have could be driven here to look at my ideas, and increase my page rank.

But I don’t, and here’s why. If I have an idea worth sharing, people will share it. This blog is called People like to share. It’s not called Matt likes to share his posts on Twitter.

I’m thrilled if someone reads this blog. Even more thrilled if someone add a delicious tag, or tweets about it themselves. But I won’t be doing any of that. There’s already too much self-promotion in social media, and not enough generosity. Brands can learn that lesson. instead of thinking of ways to promote the things the brand says, instead think of ways to promote the people who read it.

And remember, the web is now more about what you say, and not about asking people to read it.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
5 Comments leave one →
  1. May 11, 2009 9:36 am

    So you like to share your thoughts on Twitter.
    You like to share your thoughts on your blog.
    But you don’t want to share the thoughts you share on your blog on Twitter?
    You don’t run ads on your blog. You’re not sending people to an affiliate page.
    I don’t see what the big deal is. Especially when many people are abandoning their RSS feeds in favor of social aggregation. People follow their favorite blogs and bloggers on Twitter specifically to be alerted of new posts.
    Yes, if you start spamming people with your own posts then it becomes problematic.
    IMO you’re doing your followers a favor sharing your posts on Twitter and I bet most of your followers would feel the same way. Why don’t you ask them?

    • May 11, 2009 11:37 am

      Thanks for your comment, I’ve been reading your blog for a bit now.

      To your first part, I’m not sure I like to share thoughts about marketing on Twitter. I’m not sure about Twitter as a tool to increase the Matt Hames brand. I started using Twitter because a client was paying me, then they stopped, and I kept going in case another one came along. I never had a goal for Twitter, and so I’m not sure what it should be. So I’m not sure what my followers expect of me. (Nor, for that matter, and I sure what I expect of the people I follow).

      I suppose I could ask, but I’m finding that more and more, questions on Twitter go un-answered.

  2. May 11, 2009 11:13 am

    I agree with you about there being too much self-promotion in Social Media. Perfect example – Ashton Kutcher and the CNN race on Twitter. That being said, I think Twitter is a great tool of information sharing AND gathering. I use it for both. I think there needs to be balance. For example, I will tweet about a post I wrote, but I will also tweet/retweet posts from others. I try to have 2:1 or 3:1 or higher ratio of tweets of other people’s work vs. my own. I think by ensuring we’re generous, it will allow us to share our own thoughts once and while.

    • May 11, 2009 11:39 am

      I wonder if Twitter is becoming an echo chamber. I like your theory on keeping the tweeting about other people to a higher level than self-promotion, but i would argue that Tweeting someone else’s blog is an act of self-promotion. You’re saying, “I think this is smart”, and if people agree, they will reward you with attention next time you say “I think this is smart”. But at what point will people trade their influence to market something? Sometimes I wonder if we’re there already.

    • May 11, 2009 11:40 am

      BTW, thanks for the comment. I do like your point about generosity. It made me think.

Leave a Reply

