Skip to content

Put relevant information on your packaging

June 16, 2009

This is my 10th paid by the year job. Advertising is like that, people move around a lot. In that time, I’ve collected a lot of business cards. Especially since at a couple of places I was promoted. Every business card I’ve ever had has listed a Fax number.

I’ve never once gotten a Fax.

I’m sure people do. I don’t though. So in this era of BE RELEVANT, I asked to have it taken off my new business card. (if you were gonna send me a Fax, you’re out of luck.)

I replaced it with Twitter.com/mhames. I get Tweets. I don’t get faxes.

So this has me thinking: on most products there’s a URL and a 800#. If no one ever calls it, and your analytics show no one really types in your www, then you’re kinda in my boat aren’t you? Why not put something else there like your Twitter feed. Your fancy new Facebook Vanity URL.

Be relevant. And tell people what it is they should so there.

They just might surprise you and do it.

One Comment leave one →
  1. m4k2004 permalink
    June 16, 2009 4:47 pm

    Great post. Very relevant, and I wasn’t trying to be funny….just seemed to be the best response!!!

Leave a Reply

