Skip to content

Social CRM — the new big thing was always here

June 24, 2009

I was listening to a snippet of conversation going on about social CRM, the idea of social CRM, wherein social media is a customer relationship tool.

Here’s the thing: the product and or service is the customer relationship management tool. And I don’t mean customer service. I mean if you’re in the service industry, then service the butt off your client. And if it’s a product, it better work.

Then, you have to tell people about. And it should have emotion.

Current customer relationship tool.

But I will say this: I think social media can be an excellent tool for your current customers. They are the ones buying your stuff. They might even be rebuying. They are, to quote a book, your Groundswell. They are your CRM dudes and dudettes who you can arm with the data they need to go spread the word. Because here’s the thing: by convincing Bob to buy the thing I did, I prove to myself I made a good purchasing decision. The act of convincing is, in fact, the act of validation.

That’s how social media can earn new customers, while taking care of the best ones.

At least, that’s what I’ll be trying. I’ll keep you posted.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
One Comment leave one →
  1. jakyiscool permalink
    June 24, 2009 10:32 pm

    Referring to permission could help. When you ask for permission, the media booms! What do you say?

Leave a Reply

