Skip to content

A twitter marketing movement

June 26, 2009

Twitter.

There, I said it.

Twitter.

You respond with, please, stop talking about Twitter. We’re collectively sick of Twitter. Plus it’s Friday.

This isn’t about starting a Twitter feed. This is about starting a movement. And we’re not talking about political movements — because while that’s interesting, we’re marketers, so we’re talking about marketing movements.

The movement.

Before I start, I should make a confession: I use Entourage, the mac version of Outlook (It almost reads Enter Rage, which seems almost perfect). And I dislike on a level that some might refer to as unhealthy.

“You should let that shit go.” An IT guy helpfully suggests.

I’ve internally blogged about my desire for the 1’s and 0’s that make up Entourage to be permanently wiped off my hard drive, and then deleted again, just to be mean. (Picture the scene in Office Space where guys destroy photocopier. I would take a sledgehammer to the numbers)

So, you can imagine my smile, when I saw a mobilization of Twitter to Fix Outlook. With Twitter.

Picture 3

But, aside from my glee that other people hate the PC version with the same passion as me, I think this is a smart use of Twitter. it’s not, lets start a Twitter feed and rant about Outlook into the ether. It’s more along the lines of using Twitter to almost create a room of people who share something in common. In this case, it’s the desire to see something fixed. But if you think about it, it can be the desire to do anything.

And that’s kind of cool.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 27, 2009 9:52 am

    so…….what are you marketing here? Am I missing the point? I love Twitter but not sure why, I think it’s the vague interconnection with no committment…..hmmm, that’s a statement in itself!
    I’d like to believe I’m marketing my art through it but not so far……can’t seem to find time for a blog but it may come yet……feel I have much to say, then it gets stuck inbetween the hours spent doing REAL marketing. The woes of an artist!

    • June 29, 2009 2:47 pm

      I think people all to often only consider using Twitter by starting a Twitter feed. it’s what we do. That artist has a web site, I should get one. That artist has a Facebook page, I should get one. That artist has a twitter feed….

      That’s it. Twitter can be used without signing up. that was my point.

  2. September 10, 2009 7:43 am

    You could also try http://w2meet.com – it offers free blogging, free messaging and you earn credits while you’re networking that can be used to further promote your business.

    There is also http://iq143.com for automatic Twitter marketing activities. Early adopters pay the low price of just £1/month – the cheapest Twitter marketing tool by far! New features are being added and the price will increase soon – register now to be sure of paying a lower price forever.

Trackbacks

  1. A twitter marketing movement « People like to share | Twitter Bootcamp

Leave a Reply

