Skip to content

We’ve taken tens of thousands of pictures of our kids

September 24, 2010

We have seven different cameras. Five of them are also video cameras. There isn’t a moment we can’t capture, because with two macs, two mobile phones, two cameras and a flip camera, we can capture all the moments of our kids in hi def.

Currently we host pictures at Flickr, Tabblo, Snapfish, Facebook and on a personal blog about our daughter. We’re not the exception.

While it’s true that many many people currently don’t share their pictures online, that’s only because they haven’t yet tried it.

Our daughter will have somewhere north of 3000 pictures of her first year to look at. She’ll have video. She’ll have memories.

Our son will have even more. I have 3,000 pictures of him on my iPod touch.

Now, you might read all this and think I’m nuts. And I won’t argue.

But I think about it and wonder how can brands tap into this unprecedented ability to share?

Is there an obvious answer?

Enhanced by Zemanta
5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 24, 2010 2:06 pm

    Matt,

    Great thoughts. A while back I had a similar post titled “A Pictures is Worth…”

    All my clients are encouraged to have their employees carry a digital camera of any sort. It is a great way to capture a customer experience in an unstaged and natural moment. We can then use these captured moments to highlight the positive experience the customers are enjoying in our marketing materials. (with permission obviously)

    I hope that is one answer to your question.

    Good Hunting.

    • September 26, 2010 9:22 pm

      That’s a great idea. We need to always have a camera for our clients.

  2. September 24, 2010 2:24 pm

    Wow Matt, you really got my neurons firing with your post.

    I also dug up this old set of ideas on using photos and contests to help promote sleepy tourist towns in my post “Community Marketing Tactic”. It’s not just companies or organizations that can use photos, communities can also.

    I hope that also answers your question.

    Good Hunting.

  3. October 2, 2010 8:55 am

    If I had the budget I think I would hand small digital cameras out and make sure the default photo template had my clients name and my company name in the corner of the image with a tag line of “Co-Laborers in Excellence!” 8)

  4. October 6, 2010 4:52 am

    Great idea,I really enjoyed reading your post.Looking forward to see more.Thanks

Leave a Reply

