Skip to content

Where does Twitter fit into your social profile?

February 22, 2011

Today I was having a discussion with a colleague (and contributor to this blog) about Twitter.

Twitter is one of the strangest of the social networks. While it is true that the micro-interactions of 140 characters can add up to a personality, not all posts become part of them.

Here’s the point: I’ve posted on Twitter 5,848 times. Those posts would add up to me, but no one has read all of those posts. So no one has the complete me (true, this isn’t the complete me, but you get the point).

But back to our discussion: I’ve been thinking a lot about social media policies. Our conversation turned to the whole “The views expressed on this blog are mine and not those of the company that pays me”. This is protection for both of us: I’m not the spokesperson for EMA, and EMA doesn’t want me to speak for them.

So the question is: should there be a “views expressed here” on Twitter?

Is Twitter enough of a place to even have views? The answer is yes, but it is more complicated. I remember a couple of years ago, a client was concerned about a Twitter feed from one of their employees. The person was the feed was a democrat, and they used their feed to post about how much they hated John McCain. In between posts about the company where inflammatory posts about the truthiness of Mr. McCain.

Twitter’s 160 character bio doesn’t leave a lot of room for personality, and for the “views expressed here” message.

So what do you think? Should a Twitter feed explain that the views there, the thousands of 140 character thoughts are the thoughts of the person and not the company?

Related articles

Enhanced by Zemanta
4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 25, 2011 1:42 am

    Absolutely. In this age it’s all got to be out in the open. So if you’re going to comment about your company, to avoid confusion, you’ve got to make it clear that: a) you are an employee of that company and b) that you’re not representing that company. Transparency, transparency, transparency. A Twitter bio, even though it’s limited to 160, is one of the first places a disclaimer like, “The views here are my own,” should placed.

    Disclosure: I work in social media at a big company, and part of my job includes managing and monitoring employee social media use and explaining the growing importance of transparency. The views in this comment are mine :)

    • February 25, 2011 2:45 pm

      Thanks for the comment Adam, and I agree. I changed my Twitter bio to reflect it. I’m actually listed in some “ad agencies” lists which makes me nervous. Transparency is right, but some people knew to this whole social media business think the Facebook them and the work them are different. Good times.

  2. July 17, 2011 11:17 am

    Craig Mathew Feigin 26 years old, Born in Los Angeles, California, Lives in Miami, FL. Craig Feigin finished college at Florida International University – major was business management currently works in Law Firm, also manages Advertising company.

  3. September 11, 2013 5:06 pm

    I am a fan of superior writing. I aspire to become a weblog writer
    myself, but it does not come naturally to me, putting my words out there.
    I feel exposed. Do you feel this way?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

