Skip to content

The future consumer will look at the world differently

September 9, 2011

This is day #4 of the 10 days of Slideshare. Every day, there will be a new presentation.  

A couple of years ago I did a presentation called “Where is my audience”. My premise was that we live in a time where audiences are splintering. Case in point: I’m currently watching Battlestar Galatica on Netflix, commercial free. The kicker is: I don’t have cable.

I have not only unbundled a cable channel from a cable provider, I have unbundled a specific show. Ad free, the shows take 40 minutes.

Netflix is new, so this behavior is new. But my daughter will adopt this behavior as her default setting. Unbundling will be the norm.

She will organize via playlists – not have playlists dictated to her as prime time lineups. She will organize the internet her way, not a newspaper’s way.

She will look at the world, and interact with brands differently than you and I. And she is coming. Here’s my presentation. What do you think?

Enhanced by Zemanta
6 Comments leave one →
  1. September 9, 2011 12:17 pm

    I liked the slides. Nice work. I am not convinced that the 140 character culture will have the same loyalty characteristics as past generations either. Throw in a weakened economy or pessimistic future outlook and you get the strong likelihood that bargain or impulse will drive more decisions then brand identity.

    Good Hunting.

    • September 9, 2011 2:02 pm

      I agree. My daughter will look at the brands she likes different from how we did. She’ll most-likely have a better relationship with some brands than we’ve ever had – meaning, she can be hurt more.

  2. September 9, 2011 5:19 pm

    I am curious about the very idea of brand loyalty in the future (i.e. next week) when it seems brands have so little loyalty to themselves – constantly changing and rebranding and ‘upgrading.’ I personally find it difficult to even find so many brands that I have used for a long time – their logos, packaging and even content change so dramatically…

    And yet… I have clients with 2-3 year old templates and they don’t want to change them. I think they look dated, stodgy and want to ‘upgrade’ them, make them more contemporary…

  3. September 12, 2011 1:26 pm

    Son:Daughter:Brands – strange Matt. My son’s have 0 brand loyalty. There might be one or two examples of something that might be an outlier in that, but rarely do those brand relationhips last in our house. I’m wondering if it is a gender thing based on your reply comments about your daughter.

    Or maybe I’m raising some new “thrifty impusle shopper” demographic in my house!!!

Trackbacks

  1. Does Facebook work – and what does work mean? « People like to share
  2. Is Education a bundle like TV and Newspapers? « People like to share

Leave a Reply

