Skip to content

I’m a billboard marketer

July 10, 2008

When the first billboards went up, I wonder if people who could write really short and catchy headlines called themselves Billboard Marketers.

That was my first thought to a post i read about defining social media marketer. Then I thought for a minute.

First IssueImage via Wikipedia

I get that we need the term Social Media marketer to describe what is going on here in the world of social media marketing. And I actually found the article from Tamar Weinberg called “What traits define a social media marketer” to be instructive. I have the title Social Media Strategist at my agency.

But it’s my sincere hope that my title be dropped soon. I hope that we’ll simply be marketers and that social media, while different from billboard media, will simply be another tool to consider in the marketers tool box.

My definition of a social media strategist is one who understands the importance of brand. Yes, there are conversations going on all over the Internet about products and services. Those conversations are partly based on an already crafted brand. And when a product or service jumps in and begins to engage, the person executing the engagement (ie, us) better have a really good familiarity with the brand.

At it’s best, social media can be an incredible brand builder — but not from scratch. Social media works best with established brands. Consider the simple example of Facebook Pages. One doesn’t fan a page for the page. One fans the page because of the brand that has been established.

“Nike is cool.”
“I love Guinness.”

A brand new product might will not attract fans because the word fan implies knowledge.

The brand, and the manner in which the product fulfills upon usage, are responsible for starting the conversation. Right now, social media strategists are responsible for keeping it going. But in reality, the entire agency should take on that role.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
5 Comments leave one →
  1. July 10, 2008 3:23 pm

    Thanks for your thoughts 🙂 To be honest, you’re not alone with the assessment that brand recognition and awareness are key. I think you’re absolutely right. And putting that brand before our very eyes is a big part of what it’s about as well.

    Still, though, at the end of the day, understanding community is a big part of this. If I promote the National Pork Board to a PETA social community, I’m probably going to be burned at the stake. Sure, that’s a bit of an exaggerated example, but it explains what I’m getting at. Some strategy works well on social media sites whereas others don’t. I think it does vary and you need to understand the brand clearly but also the communities that you target.

  2. August 2, 2008 9:08 pm

    Tahnks for posting

Trackbacks

  1. Who should take charge of Social Media? « People like to share
  2. Why copywriters can succeed in social media « People like to share
  3. How to determine the value of an impression | People like to share

Leave a comment