Skip to content

10 things you can do on LinkedIn today

August 31, 2011

Image representing LinkedIn as depicted in Cru...

Image via CrunchBase

1. Complete your profile as if new business depends on it 

LinkedIn shows you if your profile is 100% complete. That is the first step. The next step is to Google yourself. If LinkedIn comes up on the first page, then you should assume it will come up on the first page for your next business contact.

You should polish it. Pretend the next person to hire you or your company will do so because of LinkedIn.

2. Add skills

LinkedIn skills is in beta, but that means you should click on it today. I’ve argued that LinkedIn will be a people and skills search engine. The reason is simple: you can search on Google for “plumber” because it will geolocate the closest plumbers. But if you seek an attorney, consultant or other professional, then geography isn’t always on the top of the list. But Google will care about geography. We have clients across the country, not down the road. Add your skills, today.

3. Speaking of today, check out LinkedIn.com/today

LinkedIn today is your morning newspaper. It offers all the news relative to your profile. Think of it as the front page of your internet every morning.

4. Answer questions  

LinkedIn offers “Answers”, an entire section of the site designed around knowledge. Answering questions is a way to prove knowledge. On my profile, LinkedIn calls me an expert on Networking and Web Development for answering questions on Answers. If you have a question, ask it. If you have answers, give them and prove your expertise.

5. Give recommendations

Recommendations are nice little gifts you can give to your connections. If you work with someone extraordinary, then give them a recommendation. If you used to work with someone extraordinary, then give them a reco. I like to give all of mine on Friday – that way, you make someone’s weekend.

6. Connect

Someone once asked me the following: what do you do if someone you don’t know reaches out to you to connect? Many people seem to ignore them, but I think that’s the wrong instinct. Think about it this way: imagine you are at an industry breakfast and someone sits down next to you and says hi. Ignoring them is socially awkward, right? Well, it is becoming socially awkward to ignore a connection request on LinkedIn. So instead of ignoring someone who connects, ask them how you know them. Connect to people.

7. Join or start a group

Join groups from your college alumni, your local Chamber, or an association. Groups are just like the groups we have always joined (like the local chamber), the only difference is LinkedIn groups aren’t dependent on geography. Join groups to learn about the things that matter in your industry. Bonus: you can connect with people in your groups. So join away.

8. Add applications

My favorite application is Slideshare. Slideshare is one of the best places to showcase individual and collective knowledge. I have a presentation on Slideshare called “How to use LinkedIn“. Your company could have a Slideshare site that showcases the collective knowledge of all the people there. Every presentation rises the boat.

9. Follow companies 

When engaging in social media, I think you shouldn’t cast your social media net too wide. We think you should focus on around 20 people. Those people work at companies. The first step is to follow those companies. Why? You’ll get updates when people you are connected to at those companies change their titles: “Hey Bob, congratulations on the promotion to President!”

10. Go there once a week 

If you do most of the things above, you will be going to LinkedIn once a week. But in the beginning, you have to generate a behavior. LinkedIn only offers what you put into it. If you do nothing else on this list, do #1 and #10. Eventually, the other things will work their way into your behavior. Start small, get big results.

What do you think? Is LinkedIn a useful tool for your business?

Enhanced by Zemanta
32 Comments leave one →
  1. August 31, 2011 2:16 pm

    I’ve added this post to my Reader, to be used in my “Web 2.0 for Students” class this fall when I cover Networking with Social Media.

  2. January 22, 2012 7:46 pm

    I have been on Linkedin for about two years now, but have never used it to full potential. I really didn’t know how to go about it.

    Thanks for this article Matt. Its really what i have been looking for. I know it will set me on the right path.

  3. Anonymous permalink
    July 24, 2012 12:30 pm

    raises the boat

  4. February 10, 2013 11:57 pm

    Hi there, I do believe your blog may be having browser compatibility issues.
    Whenever I look at your site in Safari, it looks fine however when opening in I.
    E., it’s got some overlapping issues. I merely wanted to provide you with a quick heads up! Besides that, great website!

  5. February 15, 2013 2:18 pm

    My brother recommended I might like this blog. He was entirely right.

    This post truly made my day. You can not imagine just how much time I had spent for this information!
    Thanks!

  6. February 17, 2013 5:55 pm

    Definitely believe that which you said. Your favourite justification seemed
    to be on the internet the easiest thing to be aware of.
    I say to you, I certainly get annoyed while people consider worries that they just
    don’t know about. You managed to hit the nail upon the top as well as defined out the whole thing without having side effect , people can take a signal. Will probably be back to get more. Thanks

  7. February 23, 2013 8:54 pm

    This paragraph is really a pleasant one it helps new internet viewers, who are wishing
    for blogging.

  8. February 24, 2013 1:59 pm

    I for all time emailed this webpage post page to all my contacts, since if like to read it afterward my links will too.

  9. March 14, 2013 7:56 am

    I will immediately clutch your rss feed as I can not to find your e-mail subscription link or e-newsletter service.
    Do you’ve any? Kindly allow me realize so that I could subscribe. Thanks.

  10. April 2, 2013 10:44 am

    Its not my first time to go to see this website, i am browsing this web site dailly and
    get fastidious facts from here all the time.

  11. April 10, 2013 8:54 pm

    Hello there! This post couldn’t be written any better! Going through this article reminds me of my previous roommate! He constantly kept talking about this. I most certainly will forward this information to him. Fairly certain he will have a good read. Thank you for sharing!

  12. April 11, 2013 2:00 pm

    Hello there, You have done an incredible job.
    I will definitely digg it and personally suggest to my
    colleagues. I’m confident they will be benefited from this web site.

  13. April 15, 2013 9:11 am

    Wow, this entry is crucial, my sister is analyzing such things, thus
    I am going to inform her.

  14. April 17, 2013 6:57 pm

    I’m not sure why but this web-site is loading extremely slow for me. Is anyone else having this issue or is it a issue on my end? I’ll check back later on and see if the problem still exists.

  15. April 17, 2013 10:18 pm

    Thanks for every other informative blog. Where else
    may I get that type of info written in such a perfect way?
    I’ve a project that I’m just now working on, and I have been
    on the look out for such info.

  16. April 30, 2013 5:08 am

    Hi there mates, its wonderful content concerning educationand
    completely explained, keep it up all the time.

  17. May 3, 2013 5:21 am

    After looking into a handful of the articles on your web site, I seriously appreciate your way of blogging.
    I bookmarked it to my bookmark webpage list and
    will be checking back in the near future. Please
    check out my website as well and tell me what you think.

  18. May 8, 2013 8:58 am

    This has caused me to wonder if there’s a couple of ways I could do things in a more focused way.

  19. May 8, 2013 9:04 am

    Wow, this article is good, my sister is analyzing these kinds of things, therefore I am going to inform her.

  20. May 8, 2013 4:27 pm

    Perfect short intro, made me read all of the post.
    Mine always seem to drag on, yours is very punchy.

  21. May 9, 2013 11:08 am

    I’m sure there was a youtube vid linked to on here by someone, with some extra stuff covering this. I can’t seem to see the
    link though.

  22. May 19, 2013 3:09 pm

    The figures are practically worthless, meaning the
    outcome doesn’t make sense either.

  23. May 31, 2013 11:26 pm

    bbq time / beer time is approaching. If I can just
    comprehend this content in the next 30 minutes I’ll be able to chill.

  24. January 12, 2015 2:17 am

    Good to find an expert who knows what he’s taklnig about!

Trackbacks

  1. How to use LinkedIn – a Slideshare presentation « People like to share
  2. How to use LinkedIn to create business content for your category « People like to share
  3. An open letter to LinkedIn | People like to share
  4. An open letter to LinkedIn | Posts
  5. An open letter to LinkedIn | Posts
  6. An open letter to LinkedIn | Posts
  7. An open letter to LinkedIn | Posts

Leave a comment